Starting a new endeavour…

25 10 2010

Weather: Brilliant fall like…kinda. High: 74º & partly cloudy. Will be in the low fifties in a few days. WOO!

Have been a lax blogger, bad Heidi —  no cookie!

On the writing front, where we always begin, I’m re-working my plan for publishing & my fiction platform. I’m still submitting my first book for consideration to small press pubs, but I’m also preparing a secondary path if that doesn’t work out.

Book # 2 is getting a complete overhaul and re-focus. I realized that the trilogy was not going to work as planned, so I am revising my story arc and it seems to be working much better now. The continuity from Book #1 seems much more smooth in transition. And the characters are now much more interesting than I’d originally cast them. There will be more snark & chemistry with these changes.

My wee kittie Fern took ill a week ago, and is now on the mend. Seems she had a cold & a bit of a small infection in her eye. So, liberal doses of the Pink Stuff (you pet owners know of what I speak) and she seems much better.

Husbeast has items up on his stained glass site. If you are interested, he currently has some suncatchers, candleholders & a vintage lampshade up for sale. He is going to be adding more suncatchers and Tiffany reproduction lampshades soon. He’s also been rumbling about making some Moravian Glass Stars for the holiday season. So if you’re in the market for some lovely stained glass items to brighten your home, here is the link to his store. Einini Glassworks.

Still working on the whole “Life Path-Move the Hell Out of Indiana-Become Genius Entrepreneur” scenario. Slow going. Lack of funds definitely dampening the enthusiasm.

Ah well, tomorrow is another day and another opportunity.

One thing I keep telling myself is that I can listen to everyone’s advice, and study the success stories of those in my field, but ultimately, I need to forge my path the best way I can, even if it flies in the face of conventional wisdom. Conventional wisdom says that right now I should just set aside my wild dreams and hopes and I’ll be damned if I do that. A safety net is always a tempting idea, but it gets you no where if you only lay in it waiting for opportunities to come to you. I’d rather get a club and go after them instead.
But YMMV.


Actions

Information

3 responses

25 10 2010
triscellepublishing

wield that club, lady! The journey is different for all writers. Anyone who tells you that the only success lies in a certain direction, is a bold-faced liar. Don’t wait, keep writing… we have faith in you and your endeavors.

25 10 2010
Heidi Ellis

Thanks lovey. As soon as I iron out the details I may be consulting with you on a few things. I’m determined to exhaust certain venues first, but I may have a full blown marketing plan that will work better for me in this current publishing environment.

And as always, thank you for all your support! It’s inestimable how much it means to me!

25 10 2010
triscellepublishing

We have some new pod companies to tout, so if things go in that direction, we’ll be ready and willing to assist with that. 🙂 Besides that, we’re still wanting to put together a group of novellas involving naughty librarians so that plan is still a go 🙂 I cannot wait to hear more news from you and Bri. And I’m planning on shopping from him soon.

Leave a Reply

