VMA musings & some writing stuff

14 09 2009

Weather: High: 84º & partly sunny. WHEN WILL THIS TORMENT END?? Grey & cool day, pls!

Weekend was enjoyable. Mostly spent it relaxing with the husband and celebrating his birthday. Made him a hot mess of a cake (Literally! IT was tasty as hell, but I actually cracked the top layer and tried to glue it together with frosting. The top layer was also still a little warm, so the broken layer split and slid in three directions! LOL! But it was TASTY! I mixed some orange extract in with the chocolate frosting for the middle layer and ended up with a Devils’ food cake with Fudge & orange frosting.  We put it in the fridge after the sliding fiasco, and it seems to be holding up okay so far. 🙂

Watched the VMA’s last night.  Usually I come away annoyed and dissatisfied, but this time I was surprisingly impressed. Russell Brand was kept on a short leash, more’s the pity. But the PERFORMANCES were amazing. Lady Gaga’s was impressive. I know there’s a whole slew of people who dismiss her out of hand, but she has a fantastic voice and put to shame all the previous pop divas who’ve lip synced on stage. Her stageset was gorgeous and her outfit, was typical Haus of GaGa. Seriously, I think a lot of people overlook the fact that she can actually SING because of all the hype and craziness. Muse was AMAZING! How American audiences have overlooked them is CRIMINAL. They performed Uprising and the audience (Apparently 700 fans) were SINGING ALONG. Take that you eejits! Pink’s performance was the third one I loved. She performed “Sober” while getting flung around suspended above the audience. Not just hanging there singing, mind you– Actually doing some Cirque Du Soleil moves! ALSO not lip syncing! Of the other performances, Taylor Swift was actually better than expected, and carried a lot of energy. Beyoncé’s was less impressive. I mean, yeah she can dance, and when she did sing, she was good. But at least half the song was backing track. Not really impressive. But she did make up for it with the classiest move ever at an awards show –After she won Video of the Year, Beyoncé allowed Taylor Swift to use her time at the podium  to finish her speech from earlier (When she had been interrupted by a particularly DICK move by Kanye West.)  Jay-Z’s performance at the end was good, but I’m not a big rap fan. Alicia Keye’s accompaniment was fantastic, though. OH! Green Day KILLED! They performed “East Jesus Nowhere” and invited the crowd onto the stage. AWESOME! Anyway -That’s what I took away from the show.

Getting back up to speed on the WIP. Still slowly ramping up. Also I’m realizing that I need to get an idea together for NaNoWriMo. I’m thinking of writing a straight Paranormal Romance and seeing if I can not only get the required 50K but ultimately wring a total 70K out of the idea. But first, I need to HAVE the idea. I’m thinking either a magic based or other form of paranormal creature. I’ve got two vampire novels on the burners already. And a cambion. And a fallen angel. And a Dark Sidhe. Need to try some new waters this time.

Ah well. Day got away from me again. Here: Have the new Three Days Grace video for a view. I like it. The rest of the fans seem a little down on it because it’s not all dark and emo. Rather like that they used the album cover colors as the color palette. And I love Adam’s sort of “wink wink” smile on the vampire line. (Of course, just makes what I’m writing more amusing.)  Apologies on the autoplay. I have no Idea how to turn it off.

Vodpod videos no longer available.

Have a good evening folks.

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

