A little meandering ramble for your Tuesday…

30 12 2008

Weather: High: 42 degrees and a wee bit o’ snow later.

Okay…so I talk a lot about music here and even about how much it informs a lot of aspects of my life. Lately it’s become like the elder guru nudging me to get things done.

A few songs of late have stood out because of particular lyrics.

The first one is “Hanging Lake” by Sunshine Blind. The chorus is:

It’s time to reap so we can sow again on fertile ground;
It’s time to burn so we can build again, Tonight,
The Temple comes down.

Of course, the Temple mentioned is metaphorical. It’s meant to represent the stagnant things in our life that need to be removed. And the authorities that stand in our way to do what we need to.  It’s a very loud, anthemic song and it just fires my blood whenever I hear it.

Second has been “Get out Alive” by Three Days Grace. (Yes…OCD. Shut up.) Mostly for the line:
Don’t put your life in someone’s hands, they’re bound to steal it away.”
Another song about taking c0ntrol of your life.

“Afterlife” by Avenged Sevenfold offers this:
I don’t belong here, I gotta move on dear
escape from this afterlife
’Cause this time I’m right to move on and on,
far away from here…
Which lyrically is about someone trying to go back and fix the mess of his life before accepting his final rest. In my case, I hear someone needing to break from what’s known and comfortable to go find what is unknown and fulfilling.  See where I’m going with this?

Music had always spoken to me. Whether the intent of the musicians is carried through to me is a fluid thing. I tend to hear what I need to hear from a song. Certain music makes me calm and other music makes me angry. Most music I listen to makes me think.   Think about what I’m doing with my life and more importantly, what I’m NOT doing with my life.  The problem with this, is that I’m only THINKING about it, and not really doing much about it. This is the problem.

What’s been constantly gnawing at me lately, is the fact that no matter what excuses or “reasons” I come up with for why I haven’t taken the initiative on more things in my life, I can look at almost every musician, artist or writer I admire and all of them succeeded with less than I have. There really is no excuse that is valid anymore. Lack of Money? Lack of time? Lack of WILL POWER is more the root problem than either of them. If you want something bad enough, neither of those stumbling blocks should be deal breakers. Multi-million dollar businesses are started from the ground up EVERY DAY. And lack of time is a lazy excuse. You can make time for thing if you want them badly enough. Get up earlier. Cut out some TV time. Spend one less hour surfing the web.  You’d be amazed how much time suddenly is available.

I guess I’m itching to stop whining about our situation and so something about it. I explained to Brian we’re at the “Can’t make an omelet, without breaking a few eggs” point. Which means people’s toes are going to get stepped on and others will be told to back off and let us do what we have to get done.

I’ll end it here with a vid of the Avenged Sevenfold song. The Chorus as always is the point of their songs. How a band this loud can be this melodic is beyond me. I just know I love em!

And here’s “Get Out Alive” by Three Days Grace. (Live version, but still excellent. Besides. Always nice to have a visit from my muse. )

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

