Writerly musings on writing….

6 08 2008

Weather: High today– 85 degrees and sunny. VERY HOT outside.

So. The writing thing.

I currently have five. FIVE! manuscripts in progress. I finally beat that writer’s block to death with a moleskine attached to a brick.

Now, the problem is that I have a room full of muses, yammering and poking me at any given time. Trying to sorth their ornery asses out can be headache inducing. So, I carry a moleskine with me at all times to jot things down when the muse strikes. Speaking of… ::makes note to get new Moleskine.:

Speaking of the muses, mine tend to come in the form of musicians or actors. Not that any of my characters share anything more than a passing resemblance to anyone in reality, it’s just it helps to have a visual to accompany the narrative process. So lately I’ve had visions of Christian Bale, Adam Gontier and Clive Owen battling out for the primary spot in my head. Not that I’m complaining because it’s a lovely vision. But trying to concoct coherent prose when hot men are wrestling in your brain…hang on a tick…correct that–wrestling SHIRTLESS in slow motion with Massive Attack

playing in the background…you see my issue. …Sorry. Needed to freeze frame something there for later. Rawr.

Anyway–back on topic. I find that the best thing to do is don’t fight the story that is playing like a film behind your eyes. Get it written down, whether directly into the computer or into a notebook or onto a scrap of paper sitting on the table near you. Then quickly transcribe it into something legible (in my case at least. Having the handwriting of a serial killer is not conducive to keeping good scenes intact. )

I’ve been trying to start with a goal of 500 – 1000 words a night. Not always successful, but even if I only achieve it 4 nights a week, that’s around 4000 words a week and 10 weeks later, you have 40000 words. See how that works?

Music tends to play a huge part in my writing. I have soundtracks and playlists to fit every character, scene and mood.  I tend to lean towards a lot of atmospheric dark instrumentals (like Nox Arcana and Midnight Syndicate), Trip Hop (Massive Attack), Industrial tinged bands (Razed in Black, Collide, Secret Meeting, Recoil, Curve, Nine Inch Nails), some alternative stuff (Three Days Grace, The Deftones, Team Sleep, Godsmack)  and of course, the inevitable Goth/Darkwave bands (The Mission, Sisters of Mercy, The Cure, Depeche Mode). Sometimes I toss in some Celtic/World/Medieval bands for good measure (Mediaeval Baebes, Loreena McKennitt, Blackmore’s Night) . There are a ton more bands I listen to but this gives you kind of a sampler platter. Music ties into my brain in a way that helps me paint a picture, which can then be translated into words.

Tomorrow I’m gonna try to talk about sticking to your guns and writing even when time and creativity are lacking.

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

