Tuesday musings: Storm Spankage edition.

5 08 2008

Weather: Yeah. About that. High: 86 degrees and scattered storms. AND HUMID.

So here’s what hit us last night:

Storm Spankage Iminent!

Storm Spankage Iminent!

We lucked out and only got wind (60+ mph) and rain and lots and lots of Thunder & Lightening. Granted the Civil Defense sirens went off and chased us into the basement with a neurotic cat.

South of us got it worse. Griffith, where my friends Lisa and Tom live, got smacked by a small tornado which ripped the hell outta a lot of houses and businesses  very near where they live,. Luckily they are okay, though without power right now.  As are the in-laws. Luckily for both there were generators available so they could at least get their sump-pumps up and running.

So we sidestepped the worst of the storm. Didn’t make commuting into work this morning any easier. Got a train that was two earlier than my usual train and it still came in 10 minutes later than my usual train would have. Thank the benevolent deities I decided to leave early!

Today is full of scrambling trying to get the stuff done for our company fund raiser golf outing. lots of stuff to be printed compiled and double checked before it gets carted off today.
Heh. So in my compiling today, I am chopping up poster board, using a glue stick and making name tags. I think I’m ready to teach kindergarten now. Oh wait! I work here–that’s already part of my job description. [/bitter]

I got an e-mail from my sister outlining the next few weeks leading up to the wedding and had a mild panic attack. It’s coming up sooner than I thought! GAH! (makes note to self to revamp speech!)

ETA: DONE WITH THE BLOODY GOLF OUTING CRAP!! HUZZAH!!!

Now onto the MUCH more exciting end of month reports. [/sarcasm]

Here- Have a video!
Some Steampunk Goodness:

Abney Park–Sleep Isabella

The Crüxshadows – Deception

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

