Spring…seems to have left the building…

29 04 2008

Weather: high — 49 degrees (!!!) and partly sunny. (It’s colder than a witch’s left….::looks down:: well YOU KNOW!)

So…wee bit chilly round Chi-Town way today. Walk to the office was a treat. But I have coffee and homemade chocolate chip Writer’s Block bread to warm me back up.

Apache seems to be doing well. The vet has me keeping an eye on on her for the short term, but she seems to be back to her old self.

I’m so frikkin tired today. Eyes are watering constantly which does not make for happy eyes.

Okay, confession time.  Ready? ::deep breath::

I’m a huge “Twilight” fan. Yes I know the books are brain candy for teens. Yes I know they’re hardly literary classics. But they’re like crack. And I honestly cannot wait for the damn movie to come out this December.  I mean SRSLY. I’ve been having dreams about the characters.
I know I’m usually pretty obsessive about vampire related stuff (Remember my feverish refreshing of the YouTube of Mick’s turning on Moonlight? Yeah. OBSESSIVE).  It’s an obsession I’ve had since I was very little. I used to sneak out of my room when I was supposed to be napping at age 3 and surreptitiously watch Dark Shadows from the doorway of my mum’s sitting room. She knew I was there and would “Discover” me if things got too scary, but for the most part she let me watch. My vampire love was born early. I have a huge collection of vampire related books, movies and thematically related music. Hell, I’m even writing a Vampire novel as we speak! Fell sideways into the Goth subculture in my teens as well.

So why the lengthy ramble? Because I think the one thing that Stephenie Meyers books have that has captured my attention is she put a new bit of twist on the mythology. Her vampires don’t have fangs, just very sharp teeth, which are coated with venom. To turn a human you have to put them through days of sheer burning agony. She’s taken the pleasure of the Turning and, if you’ll excuse the expression, turned it on its ear.
Vampire mythology is an interesting area to write fiction in since there is no definitive canon and probably has the most vicious arguments raised over what a vampire is supposed to look like, act like and a host of other sundry minutiae. There have been so many variations written, some to good effect, some not so much. We have romantic vampires, vicious vampires, animalistic vampires, fangless vampires, vampires who can walk in the sun…the list goes on and on. It’s almost impossible to find a creative twist on the vampire mythos that hasn’t been done into the ground already, or without going so far off the grid, your vampire resembles nothing that can be CALLED a vampire. SIGH. And it should be noted that Werewolves have a similar dilemma.

Anyway. enough with the rambling for the day. Have month end reports lurking like the smoke monster behind my monitors, just waiting to leap on me when my attention is diverted…should go deal with that! Also have some writing to do today.

OH!  forgot to mention I started my workout regimen yesterday and have sore abs as a result. Gonna keep up with it though, so hopefully I can look decent for the wedding in June.

Daily Vid post:

This song has been stuck in my head for the past few days…and the vid is just a neat visual mindf*ck. So without further ado –more homeboys from Chicago:

ChevelleVitamin R (Leading us Along)

and just for S & Gs, (G being GOTH) Heres’ a Peter Murphy vid for y’all//

Peter MurphyCuts you Up

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

